RFVega115
I wanted to tell my story to verify the effectivness (if done right) of alarm systems and to educate others on how to better protect their custom rides from either the whole car or the contents being stolen. Here is my story:

Feb.25,1994 2:30am. Rainy (watch out when rainy, they LOVE it)! Muffles noise, but NOT sirens!
They just got done jacking my brothers gear with MUCH damage done. Guess what? He DID NOT have a alarm. He does now. They then turned to my car. BAD, BAD choice, as they did find out the hard way! As a alarm installer, I had it rigged up!
2 30 watt home security sirens outside and 1 interior 130db car alarm siren (pain generator).
To say the least, the bastards most likely ran like fire was up their a**. My pager went off also, but they were longgg gone!!! I had Viper perimeter voice, but did not have it on. If I did there might have been no damage to my ride. They broke my drivers side window, but the tint held it all together. They did not stay around to fold the window down into the car with the tint. It came off the track perfectly half way, just like I had rolled it down. Just one little tiny piece of glass fell inside. No water damage, because it had just finished raining. I will tell you all that there are FEW things in life better (for a car audio enthusiast) than find YOUR gear still intact and YOURS after a attempted burglary all for under $200 spent VERY wisely (compared to the $ spent for your audio gear). I just wish they had tried to hit my ride first, then ALL would have been saved, except for my broken window.
I have been enjoying my same audio system for 10 years now, all thanks to a 'custom' alarm system!