mannynj2k2max Show full post »
Andy Jones
^Very nice.

I do have to ask---drywall screws for the midbass?
Quote 0 0
mannynj2k2max
Thanks to winslow always emphasizing the issue/importance of PLD's... I spent the holidays with my tweeters in the kicks and thus found a new home.
I sure dont know why i danced around and neglected the idea before, perhaps as I've been using door/pillar mounted tweeters for many years. Turns out this configuration lends me the absolute best overall sounstage. Best depth and cymbals actually sound as if the come from behind the vocals on the stage. The angles on the midranges maintain the center image above dash and center (even without t/a), and is not dragged around by the sources of sibilance(tweets). It certainly gives you throughout the volume range a reminder that you are the listener, and the stage is in front of you. I was able to do this with the a-pillar mount, yet the louder volumes would immerse you and find its way to move the stage toward your lap- in this arrangement not the case. I also feell i may not need much EQ, several peaks have seemingly already dissappeared and it sound like quite a flat presentation as is. I certainly was not going to paint the tweeters, so i painted/clearcoated the 4" grills instead to match them. I have the alum trim/ black interior two tone theme going on so i feel they look in place and like'm this way. What i need now is some contact cement so that i can vynil wrap the kicks to match the oem grain trim.
Certainly tuning is a whole diff beast now in terms of crossover points (vs ones i used before with drivers spread out) but the pathlength differences are much more favorable now and should lead to less of a processed sound , less reflection issues , etc..once i'm done tinkering.
Quote 0 0
mannynj2k2max
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Jones:
^Very nice.

I do have to ask---drywall screws for the midbass?