SomeDonnieDude
I'm new to the spl side of audio, and am wondering why some people recommend small boxes for spl and others recommend large? I always though larger boxes were more efficient, and small boxes were only done to compensate for power handling when feeding a driver large amounts of power?

Can anyone throw me a bone here?
Quote 0 0
SomeDonnieDude
anyone?

I see lots of guy do ~3cf for a single 15". For example Atomic (since I have an apx) recommends 6cf for their 15" apx. I know the best answer would be just to build it then see what happens, but I didn't know if there was a theory behind it?
Quote 0 0
AQIntrepid
Well... you have the right idea man. It all depends on power applied to the sub. If you are in a class that you are limited to low power then I would build a more efficient box to take advantage of every watt available. If you will be pouring it on then go smaller to help the subs power handling capabilities.

In the class I am in I can only clamp 2000 watts rms. I am using a single 15 and my box is really close to 5 cubes. It works well. If I was going for all out spl and had a ton of power to use the box would probably be smaller.
Quote 0 0
avaryj
I tried a large box with 4 18's and it pounded but I was not impressed at all on the TL.
Quote 0 0
avaryj
I would definitely go smaller. Doing 8 15's now off 12k. The box will not be big to compensate the power. I should get good numbers on the TL.
Quote 0 0
Gavin
Remember bro, what sounds good to the ear may not sound good to the mike and visa versa! ya know what I mean?
Quote 0 0
Sinister-David
if 8 15's don't sound good on the mic and to the ear dam something is major wrong
Quote 0 0
tekk45