ORION93
I am new to car audio. i read a thread that is talking about tuning amps with an Oscope. I am pritty good with electronics and have several Very old Oscopes. Can any one tell me a site that has instuctions on how to do this or can any one just tell me plz?
Quote 0 0
Gavin
Its not so hard, you connect the leads from your o-scope to your rca jacks if your trying to find out where your HU peaks at or to your speaker terminals on your amp if you want to see when its clipping. If your doing your HU,

1:make sure everything is flat / set to zero. no bass boost or any extra bing that makes your system sound better.

2:Insert a test tone CD, 50Hz~65Hz is the usual range used for testing. Your volume level is at its lowest.

3:start the test tone and have the HU set on repeat. start turning up the volume and check the wave, continue to turn the volume up until the wave starts to go square / clipping.

4:If clipping, turn the volume back down until the wave is round at its peak. check your HU volume level, note that volume number,now your one click from clipping your HU signal.

Amp:
Some people test with the subs loaded (subs connected), some don't (unloaded) that choice is yours.

1:make sure everything is flat / set to zero. no bass boost or any extra bing that makes your system sound better.

2:Insert a test tone CD, 50Hz~65Hz is the usual range used for testing. Your volume level is at its lowest.

3:insert your leads into the speaker terminals.
4: Your gains should be at their lowest point.
5: Play your HU at your max clean signal volume level.
6:Again, watch the wave, as the tone is playing begin to turn up your gain pot. continue turning it until the wave goes square, once that happen just turn it back a bit until its round again,after that disconnect your leads from the amp. your amp is now set.